The Third Act


If life were a journey across Canada, I’d just be entering Alberta right now.

Not a bad place to begin to write the ending, in a cabin somewhere near Lake Louise or Banff. Not fussy about the city; that’s for sissies.

I know I’ll be spending my senior years in British Columbia, somewhere in the mountains or big forests or on a great island, like Salt Springs. That would be a terrific place to end it, surrounded by flora and fauna and fish and game, tipping my toes in the world of spirit.

Putting my lips to the world.

I don’t want to focus on British Columbia right yet. There’s too much to see in Alberta, too many people to meet, too much of life to examine.

Some of my friends never got to B.C. and forgot to savor Alberta.

I won’t make that mistake.

Can’t afford to waste any energy, talent or spirit wanting to be some place else.

The now is what’s important.

If life were the theatre, I’d be entering the Third Act, finally weaving together the various plot lines, sewing up all the loose threads into a show stopping ending, one that would assure me rave reviews from everyone — even people who don’t know me. The point of it all would finally be revealed, with people either shaking their heads in disbelief, laughing until they peed their pants or sobbing uncontrollably about the unfairness of it all.

As the author of my own life, assisting the Great Director, I still have some influence on how it will end.

I want to go out on a high.

As I sit here in the early morning light of July 2nd, five and a half decades after Vera and Russell brought me into this world, I am ever grateful for the gifts I have been given.

I’m thinking about all the people who matter to me, my husband Scott, my wonderful children Nicholas, Stefan and Marissa, my terrific pooches, Hannah, Ming and Gordie, not to mention the new folk who have entered the inner sanctum, Jeff and Schyla and a grandchild I will meet in the next few months.

Everything changes, that’s what I know. Things can change on a dime, so you better be ready. Hold your people close, don’t let them go until you must. Never forget to let them know how much they mean to you.

The characters in your play are all there for a reason, to test your mettle, to help you grow, to smack you into learning life’s hard lessons.

Be aware, be present, feel the love and the goodness in life.

Stop wasting any time focusing on the bad.

Never look back.

Cherish the memories of those who have gone from this life, remember how they shaped your vision of the world. See them, acknowledge them, thank them, then forgive them and move on.

Seek wisdom and truth, and don’t be afraid to rage against injustice in the world.

The Third Act is all about standing up and being heard; it’s about being true to the person inside, not  necessarily the person you’ve become.

Keep smiling.

Keep laughing.

Close your eyes, feel the warmth of the sun on your skin, see the joy even when it’s hard to find.

Eat well, drink well.

Keep moving.

Open your eyes. Let the light in.

Live in the moment.

To all my friends and family, I wish you all a wonderful day.

Hope to be around to wish you many more.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

