New government weight loss scheme: 15 minutes to a new you


Here’s another knee-slapper from the federal government.

A new study suggests that one million cases of obesity could be avoided if people would only engage in 15 minutes of exercise and eat more fruits and vegetables.

I’m no doctor, but I’m calling bullshit on this one.

I mean, do any of these people watch Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition?

Even the doctors are calling out the Canadian Institute for Health Information for a study they say reinforces the stereotype that all obese people are nacho scarfing deadbeats.

In fact, a leading obesity expert called the study “nonsense.”

How much money did CIHI get to come up with this bone-headed study?

Anyone packing a few pounds can tell you that 15 minutes of exercises does squat.

I just got back from the gymnasty, where I do ONE hour on the rowing machine and twenty minutes on a stationary bicycle EVERY day. I’ve been doing this for months and I haven’t even lost a dress size. I also eat enough fruit and veg to give me a Dr. Oz sized s-shaped crap.

Since I started this regime — which is not for the faint of heart let me tell you — I’ve lost maybe ten pounds.

I’m still fit and I’m healthy and I’m technically obese even though I’ve worked my ass off.

That’s because I’m middle-aged and I have a slow metabolism.

So I have news for these high-priced researchers.

Fifteen minutes is a fucking warmup.

That’s right.

If I did fifteen minutes I’d still be wedging my way into the car.

Doctors say this bogus study sends very bad messages.

“The notion that 15 minutes of extra activity and eating more fruit and vegetables will have any noticeable impact on this epidemic is both simplistic and misleading,” Dr. Arya Sharma says. “Even if this were to work for prevention, it is certainly not a treatment for obesity.”

Hallelujah to you, doc.

People get fat for a variety of reasons. Some have health markers that make it hard for them to lose weight. Others are inactive, couch potato losers.

There is no one size fits all solution to obesity.

The government should ask for their money back for this one.

Preferably in plastic.

Leave a Reply

