Beyond Bob Rae


It certainly didn’t take Iggy long to say goodbye.

He’s not Joe Clark, that’s for sure.

I want to thank Iggy from the bottom of my liberal heart for his efforts.

Now it’s time to move on.

It seems Bob Rae is wasting no time in dusting off his orange jacket. Apparently, he’s talking merger.

Look Bob, if you don’t want to be a bloodly Liberal, take your campaign signs and move down the hall. We don’t need no stinking two-timers in the Liberal Party.

Off with you, pal.

Now that I’ve got that out of my system, I think it’s time to take back the Party from the greasy little hands of the old guard.

Clean the slate.

Get back to basics.

It’s true, we will need a strong leader, someone who doesn’t mind having mothballs in his pockets to keep the critters from eating his suit while he’s sitting on the backbenches.

 Someone who is a team player, a true individual, a person who can make his mark.

I’m putting forward a name that even Keith Davey wouldn’t have thought about.

Someone who will bring about real change.

I’m talking Howie Mandell.

Now before you start the eyerolling, let me state my case. Howie is a popular guy. At one time, he had two shows on television at once. And he’s got enough money to bankroll the party himself. This is an important quality since the Liberals are going to have a hard time raising money.

We’ve had hockey players, astronauts, food bank administrators, former NDP premiers, so why not a comedian?

The new leader is certainly going to need a sense of humor.

It’s the only thing that’s keeping me from cutting myself today.

So let’s look beyond the usual suspects in picking a new leader.

Let’s find someone who is competent and one-faced.

Anybody but Bob Rae.

Leave a Reply

