Salmon days


By Rose Simpson

I’m six weeks into my new health and fitness regime and I can finally get into my skinny fat jeans.

Those were the ones I bought last fall after I’d lost a bunch of weight following the toxic oil spill and subsequent move from Smyth Road. For those who have followed that story, the place has had a crater the size of P.E.I. in front of it since we moved last fall, and the hole is finally being filled in.

 Still looks like a meteorite hit it. Glad we moved.

Anyway, the stress of the move allowed me to slim down.  I was feeling better about my chubby self and, on an impulse, went to Addition Elle for some smaller black jeans. I looked like a girl again instead of the Jamie Oliver Flavor Shaker.

But soon Christmas arrived and I was eating and drinking everything in sight.

Needless to say, the new jeans were dispatched to the back of the closet.

What a difference a work out makes.

Thanks to my personal strainer and the South Beach Diet, I’m in the skinny fat jeans once again, and they’re loose!

Wowwee-kazowee!

It’s been hard slogging. I’m combining a daily workout of a half hour cardio and a half hour of weights. My actual weight hasn’t gone down, but my shirts are loose and I can finally put away the big and ugly bras I’ve been forced to wear for the past few years. I’ve also lost most of what my strainer calls my “Hello Helens”, those flabby wings we girls get as we get older.

Fitness tip.

Most of us who have bothered to work out over the years have what is called a fitness imprint, meaning that our bodies remember our thin selves and it makes it easier to bounce back. For those of you who haven’t lifted more than your weight off the john, it takes longer to free yourself from the cottage cheese around your thighs, so, hah, hah, I’m one up on you.

One thing that hasn’t bounced back since my days of playing four hours of tennis a day a decade ago is the hamstring action on the back of my thighs. Everyday, I have to stretch them out a few times, but I’m getting there.

I found it interesting to see how my face changed post-botox, given that the injections were done when I looked like Hammy Hamster. It seems that I’m getting that steroid look like the doctor on the Biggest LoserI’m also getting the jawline of Maria Shriver.

Oh well, it’s what happens when you’re living large, I guess.

Anyway, I wanted to share with you a recipe. I’m not much of a fish lover — don’t hate it, just don’t love it — and I found this incredible recipe in Canadian Living.  It’s salmon steamed in parchment paper in the oven.

It’s French. It’s easy and it is delish.  For those of you on Weight Watchers, it’s a 10 point item, but will work using some of your cheat points.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

